Announcement of the winners of the Japan Prize 2022

TOKYO, January 25, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The Japan Prize Foundation announced the 2022 Japan Prize winners on January 25. Teacher. Katalin Kariko (Hungary/United States) and Prof. Drew Weisman (United States) are co-winners of the Japan Prize in the field of “Materials and Production”, and Prof. Christopher Field (United States) received the Japan Prize in the field of “Organic production, ecology/environment”.

– In the field of Materials and Production

Teacher. Katalin Kariko

Teacher. Drew Weisman

– In the field of Organic Production, Ecology/Environment

Teacher. Christopher Field

With this year’s award, Kariko and Weissman are recognized for their pioneering research contributing to the development of mRNA vaccines, and Field is recognized for his outstanding contributions to global biospheric productivity estimation and climate change science in the world. using advanced formulas based on observation.

This year, the Foundation asked about 15,500 eminent scientists and engineers from around the world to nominate researchers working in this year’s fields, and it received 208 nominations in the field of materials and production, and 138 nominations for the field of organic production, ecology/Environment. This year’s winners were selected from this total of 346 applicants.

About the Japan Prize

The creation of the Japan Prize was motivated by the desire of the Japanese government to create an internationally recognized prize that would contribute to scientific and technological development in the world. With the support of many donations, the Japan Prize Foundation received Cabinet Office approval in 1983.

The Japan Prize is awarded to scientists and engineers around the world who have made creative and spectacular achievements that help advance their fields and contribute significantly to the achievement of peace and prosperity for all mankind. . Researchers in all fields of science and technology are eligible for the award, with two fields selected each year taking into account current trends in scientific and technological development. In principle, one person in each field is awarded the prize and receives a certificate, medal and prize money. Each awards ceremony is attended by the current Emperor and Empress, the heads of the three branches of government and other relevant officials, as well as representatives of various other elements of society.

SOURCE Japan Prize Foundation

Comments are closed.